Texas A&m-Commrce’s Dyan Robinson named LSC Player of the Year | Sports

Dyani Robinson, who helped the 27-5 Texas A&M University-Commerce Lions to the Lone Star Conference Basketball Tournament Finals, won LSC Player of the Year honors.

Robinson, a 5-7 sophomore guard from Cypress Langham Creek, ranked fourth in the league with 16.3 points per game, ninth in the LSC in field goal percentage (.415) and 10th in field goal percentage. free throws (.798). She also averaged 4.4 rebounds, delivered 112 assists and recorded 33 steals. Robinson was also part of the all-LSC first team.

Her teammate Laila Lawrence was named the sixth woman of the year. Lawrence, a 6-1 freshman forward from Lewisville, averaged 9.4 points and 4.9 rebounds per game. Lawrence also earned third-team LSC honors and made the freshman team.

DesiRay Kernal and Chania Wright of A&M-Commerce were also part of the all-LSC team. Kernal, a 6-0 sophomore forward from Newton, Kansas, was named to the second team after averaging 11.7 points and a team-high 7.7 rebounds per game. Wright, a 5-8 senior under DeSoto, averaged 11.3 points and 2.4 rebounds. She shot .854 from the free throw line.

A&M-Commerce is tied with Texas Woman’s for second place in the LSC standings at 12-3 and lost 67-66 to West Texas A&M in the LSC tournament final. The Lions reached the second round of the NCAA Division II South Central Region Tournament before losing 69-67 to LSC rival Lubbock Christian.

The Lions remained in the NCAA Division II national rankings all season, reaching first place in a poll.

Cameron, Oklahoma’s Stephanie Peterson has been named LSC Defensive Player of the Year. Peterson averaged 6.8 rebounds and 2.8 steals per game.

Beth Jillson, who led Texas Woman’s to a tie with A&M-Commerce for second place in the league standings, won the Noel Johnson Coach of the Year Award named in honor of the late coach l Midwestern state who also won a national championship as a player at Texas Tech.

2022 All-Lone Star Conference

Women’s basketball team

Player of the Year—Dyani Robinson, Texas A&M-Commerce

Defensive Player of the Year — Stephanie Peterson, Cameron

Newcomer of the Year – Liah Davis, UT Tyler

Sixth Woman of the Year — Laila Lawrence, Texas A&M-Commerce

Freshman of the Year – Ashley Ingram, Texas Woman’s

Noel Johnson Coach of the Year – Beth Jillson, Texas Woman’s


G Sawyer Lloyd Angelo State So.

G Maighan Hedge Cameron Jr.

G Allie Schulte Lubbock Christian Gr.

F Hannah Wilson St. Mary’s Sr.

F Raiana Brown Texas A&M International Sr.

G Dyani Robinson Texas A&M-Commerce So.

F Asley Ingram Texas Woman’s Fr.

C Liah Davis UT Tyler Gr.


G Iyanna McCurdy Eastern NM Gr.

G Ashton Duncan Lubbock Christian Gr.

G Morgan Lenahan Midwest State Sr.

G Frances King Midwest State So.

G Brooklin Bain Oklahoma Christian So.

F DesiRay Kernal Texas A&M-Commerce So.

G Sadie Moyer Texas Woman’s Jr.

G Zamorye Roberts West Texas A&M Jr.

G Karley Motschenbacher West Texas A&M Fr.

F Alivia Lewis West Texas A&M Sr.


G Payton Brown Angelo State Jr.

F Blakely Gerber Angelo State So.

F Tayjanna McGhee-Pleasant Angelo State So.

G Stephanie Peterson Cameron Jr.

G Channing Cunyus Lubbock Christian Sr.

F Hannah Reynolds Midwest State Sr.

G Chania Wright Texas A&M-Commerce Sr.

F Laila Lawrence Texas A&M-Commerce Fr.

G Kryslyn Jones Texas A&M-Kingsville So.

G Paige Elston Arkansas-Fort Smith Sr.


Angelo State: G Madeline Stephens, p.

Eastern New Mexico: G Natalie Stice, So.

Lubbock Christian: F Juliana Robertson, Gr.; G Laynee Burr, Sr.

St. Edward’s: G Lauren Catherman, So.

Texas A&m International: Clara Fernandez, So.

Texas A&M-Kingsville: G Mia Rivers, Fr.

Texas Woman’s: G Brielle Woods, Jr.

Arkansas-forth Smith: F Mar’Shalia Lollie, Sr.

UT Tyler: F Montse Gutierrez, So.


G Payton Brown Angelo State Jr.

G Stephanie Peterson Cameron So.

G Juliana Roberson Lubbock Christian Gr.

F Hannah Wilson St. Mary’s Sr.

F Karley Motschenbacher West Texas A&M Fr.


F Grace Foster Lubbock Christian

G Evelyn Quiroz Texas A&M International

F Laila Lawrence Texas A&M-Commerce

F Ashley Ingram Texas Wowan’s

F Lovisa Hevinder UT Tyler

Comments are closed.